Nashville: 1 // Kayla: 0

As the title reads…if I were keeping score, Nashville takes the cake tonight.

For those of you who may not know, I moved to Nashville about two months ago to pursue a job in the FUGE Camps office at LifeWay. Love my job and the opportunity to further the Gospel.

My adventure tonight started out as a leisurely endeavor to attend a new small group. Leisurely…ha…what was I thinking?   Little did I know that the Tennessee Titans were playing at Nissan Stadium downtown. Now if you know anything about sports, then you know that ridiculous does not even begin to describe the traffic and crowds, especially for football.  Well this “new to Nashville chic” had no earthly idea that she would have to attempt a Moses moment and part the Red Sea in order to make it to that small group.  Notice that I said “attempt.”

After driving literally in circles and my poor little iPhone saying, “Rerouting” for what seemed like the 100th time, I gave up. I think my iPhone was grateful because he was struggling to say the least. I think I felt him breathe a sigh of relief when I selected “Home” for my final set of driving directions. Yes, I did just personify my iPhone…don’t act like you aren’t guilty of the same.

As soon as I made the decision to go home, the enemy jumped in my front seat.  He started his normal routine of throwing insults…much like a bunch of preschoolers in a food fight. As I’m driving and trying to dodge these insults, I’m channel surfing the radio. I stopped on a random Christian station in which a pastor was preaching.  Lately, I enjoy listening to sermons and podcast instead of the radio because it floods my life with God’s truth and gives me ammunition when the enemy jumps in the front seat.  Never want be caught in the middle of that preschool food fight without any grapes to throw.

Back to the pastor…he was talking about John 15…Jesus is the Vine and we are the branches. He was asking the audience if they have ever felt disconnected. I was like, “Whoa, how did he know that I would be listening?” At this point, the enemy had been forcibly kicked out of my Jeep because he wanted nothing to do with God’s truth. I kicked him out of the car like that girl in the commercial kicks Ariana Grande out of the car because she needs her navigation (Don’t know what I’m talking about? Don’t worry…you’re not missing much).

The pastor went on to say that if you are feeling disconnected, remember to abide in Jesus. He is the vine and if you are connected to Him, then you have everything you need.

So even though I felt like I lost because I gave up on attending the small group, Jesus met me right where I was. He knew that I would get lost and He had a divine appointment already set up. I’m sure He was so excited and couldn’t wait for me to experience that moment…because He’s cool like that.  I mean, He’s known about it for thousands of years…He’s been holding out for awhile.

So all of that to say this: In that moment when I was lost, I could have let the enemy remain in my front seat. I could have let him throw those insults and I could have believed every single one of them. I could’ve cranked up the secular music and remained in my frustrated state.

But, I had a CHOICE.  If I would have let the enemy take the reigns of my thoughts, I would have missed that moment with Jesus. What a pity that would have been.

Side note: If you’re one of those people who skip ahead in a blog to the important part….then read this next part….it’s probably what you’re looking for lol…

The next time you are faced with frustration, disappointment, rejection, negativity, (insert your hurt here), look for the divine appointment with Jesus. He’s always near….never far. Don’t let the enemy sit in your front seat and throw chocolate milk in your face (gross). Kick him out of the car and replace his insults with God’s truth (those are the grapes I was talking about earlier…get it? Jesus is the Vine).

I’ll leave you with this Scripture: “I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now CHOOSE LIFE, so that you and your children may live and that you may love the Lord your God, listen to His Voice, and hold fast to Him.” — Deuteronomy 30:19-20

CHOOSE LIFE so you can hold fast to Him. It’s as simple as that.

– Kayla Marie

 

2 thoughts on “Nashville: 1 // Kayla: 0

  1. Girl, you can write! This is really good, creative, funny, and insightful Not to mention, just flat-out truth! I’m proud of you and I love you, friend! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

