January 9, 2017

Jeremiah 1:7-9: “Then the Lord said to me: Do not say, “I am only a youth,” for you will go to everyone I send you to and speak whatever I tell you. 8 Do not be afraid of anyone, for I will be with you to deliver you. This is the Lord’s declaration. 9 Then the Lord reached out His hand, touched my mouth, and told me: I have now filled your mouth with My words.”

When we read passages like this, sometimes I think we stop after we see the word “send.”  For some of us, fear immediately sets in because we are afraid that God might send us all over the map.  We don’t want to go anywhere or tell anyone anything.  We don’t want to be uncomfortable or put ourselves in danger.

But, look back at verse 8. The Lord declared that He would be with Jeremiah every step of the way.  When the Lord declares something, it has weight and meaning.  It’s not like pinky promises in elementary school.  If the Lord says He will do something, believe me, He means it.  Now, look at one more thing in verse 9.  Whose words filled Jeremiah? That’s right, God’s words. What a commissioning that must’ve been!

The next time you feel God leading you to go somewhere new or talk to someone different, don’t be afraid.  Remember this declaration and share the truth with the love that only God can give.

Leave a Reply

